This is a post about post-traumatic growth.

For those of you who are new to my blog and not fully up to speed, this blog is a “post-psychological breakdown blog”…In essence, this blog (about summer starting to shine) is about me figuring life out, after being so close to death (by suicide).

My life started to go pear shaped about five years ago. At the age of 30 I began my descent into the abyss of mental illness. Repressed memories of severe child abuse began to flood my consciousness.

img_20161122_115826906

And life has never been the same again.

But life is full of transitions.

Sometimes life changes in manageable HEY I CAN DEAL WITH THIS EASY ways…

But other times life knocks you onto the ground and you lay there, winded, stunned, and unable to make sense of the blow you just had to your chest. You stay in this place of defeat for a long time, and it can take you years to get back onto your feet again.

It has taken me five whole years to re build myself after breaking down….

BUT I’VE FUCKING ACHIEVED IT! I’m so proud.

tumblr_mtaj9vquzf1rdwu9ro1_r1_500

Having my discharge from mental services planned, a date to be discussed between my psychiatrist and psychologist is A HUGE STEP FORWARD.

Barriers were smashed yesterday.

img_20161122_115916835

I’ve been downhearted at times lately, but this boost has galvanised all my strength to continue my recovery.

My recovery did not stop yesterday when my psych told me I’m ready for discharge.

My recovery will continue for the rest of my life. You can’t have a life like I’ve had and be “normal”

The great thing though about that truism, is there is a caveat to it.

What I’ve been through is actually preparation for me becoming extraordinary.

img_20161122_115946076

Have you ever heard of the phrase POST-TRAUMATIC GROWTH?

I have heard other PTSD bloggers mention it in passing but don’t know much about it so I will consult the oracle of truth GOOGLE…

excuse me for one moment, opening up new browser tab

 

Ahh, this is what is it…..

Post-traumatic growth (PTG) or benefit finding refers to positive psychological change experienced as a result of adversity and other challenges in order to rise to a higher level of functioning.[1] These sets of circumstances represent significant challenges to the adaptive resources of the individual, and pose significant challenges to individuals’ way of understanding the world and their place in it.[1] Posttraumatic growth is not about returning to the same life as it was previously experienced before a period of traumatic suffering; but rather it is about undergoing significant ‘life-changing’ psychological shifts in thinking and relating to the world, that contribute to a personal process of change, that is deeply meaningful.[1]ith*

Good description. Well done Wikipedia

claps and cheers

How about finding out…..what forms does posttraumatic growth take?

https://ptgi.uncc.edu/what-is-ptg/, you read my mind!…. This is what they said….

Posttraumatic growth tends to occur in five general areas. Sometimes people who must face major life crises develop a sense that new opportunities have emerged from the struggle, opening up possibilities that were not present before. A second area is a change in relationships with others. Some people experience closer relationships with some specific people, and they can also experience an increased sense of connection to others who suffer. A third area of possible change is an increased sense of one’s own strength – “if I lived through that, I can face anything”. A fourth aspect of posttraumatic growth experienced by some people is a greater appreciation for life in general. The fifth area involves the spiritual or religious domain. Some individuals experience a deepening of their spiritual lives, however, this deepening can also involve a significant change in one’s belief system.

YES YES YES !

I AM LIVING PROOF OF ALL THIS. I am spiritually enlightened, I have strong empathic relationships with those who suffer with similar abusive demons,  I do believe in my own strength HELL YEAH BOOYAH, I do appreciate life more, despite it’s apparent shittiness at times, and finally new opportunities are emerging from this epic crapness.

I WANT TO USE THIS TO PROPEL ME TO GREAT THINGS.

I WANNA BE THE NEXT MAYA ANGELOU.

BEST OF LUCK THERE SUMMER…DO YOU THINK YOU SHOULD MAYBE REVISE YOUR AMBITIONS?!? scratching head ;) haha.

NOPE.

I’m not only learning to shine, but I’m reaching for the stars, and nothing can stop me.

Woop woop.

LIFE IS EPICLY AWESOME WHEN YOU’VE DEALT WITH PTSD AND YEARS OF SUICIDAL CRISIS. BOOYAH.

This, my blogger friends is post traumatic growth, right in front of your eyes, bouncing off your screens onto your retinas.

LOOK AT ME.

img_20161122_120134788

I AM POST TRAUMATICALLY GROWN!! AND NOT EVEN FULLY GROWN YET.

I’M 6FT NOW…I WONDER HOW TALL I’LL GET!!

WOOT WOOT :)

With love, from a happy EMPOWERED Summer

XXX

Cuddles all round, cause I feel like it today :)

SQUUEEEEEZZZZEEE

 

 

 

 

 

 

