THE BLACK DOG

THE BLACK DOG

tumblr_o1shtongmn1v2bupqo1_250

I’ve gone off brief-not how I want this blog to go

A poem about depression? Oh fuck it, oh no

Not this again. This french noir dog

Summer finds herself trapped below dense depressive fog

thatoldblackdog500

Stayed in bed today ALL bloody DAY

Alone/connect-I hate you/don’t leave-OH PLEASE PLEASE STAY

Let me touch you. Come up close

Cheeks glisten wet. Summer’s poetry woefully verbose

So little words & so little thought

Where’s the dog pound when you need em? I want this BLACK FUCKER caught 😦

Black dog, you stay even though I don’t stroke or pet you

I shout and you look pleased like I’ve just rewarded you

You’re a persistent drain. You suck joy from this life

If you plague me much more I’ll be at your throat with the sharpened blade of that knife

I don’t do pretty poems sorry, it’s just not me

Emotions are my tic; my allergy, my flea

Scratch scratch scratch, noir BITCH, FUCK OFF

Don’t even think of having puppies even though you crave it like a moon chasing moth

Don’t breed. Don’t strengthen. I CAN’T STAND YOU.

Leave me alone and stop popping up sudden like a ghost dog. BOO!

Black bitch NOT trendy nor kitch

Seroxat pills help but hard to concentrate when doing fiddly details in cross stitch

I don’t even do cross stitch! I just put it in for the rhyme

I’m fucking tired and miserable and I can’t be arsed all the damn time

I’m true on my blog. I say how things are

The black dog is evil. Will I get in trouble if a hypothetical black dog gets run over in a sunshine yellow car?

Tyres splat him

I stop the car and am compelled to go back, to finish the job and to BATTER HIM

Sorry this is quite a graphic murderous post

I’m gonna have a cup of tea now and a slice of buttered toast

Calm down summer. Get well fucking soon

At the black dog’s funeral I’ll be the one arriving with the shiny balloons.

still01

I wanna let go of him. We all know who the black one is.

The black dog is my abusive dad. Insight cork pops on the fizz

Can’t wait for your funeral, abuser papa

I just hope it happens soon, it just seems so close, yet so far 😦

tumblr_na1bg2zc5c1sl8veho1_400

 

 

 

21 thoughts on “THE BLACK DOG

  1. What a ride! I adored your spunk, your rawness, and your almost insanely effortless propensity for natural (it seems) rhyme. The metaphor carried to the end (I can do that verrrrry rarely) and there was a nibble of poignant truth (albeit scathing) every few lines.

    I hope you feel better soon.

    I just want to say you have slain the topic and it may be insensitive for me to say this but keep writing about it as often as it suits. We are learning. And also standing aside in awe (and a little reverent fear) of your eloquence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wowzers! That is a genuinely fab comment! That kind of feedback is invaluable to me. To be honest I rarely write poetry but it is easy for me to do when I get in the mood. I wrote one recently (To Mum X) and that got a lot of positive comments. I find poetic writing really cathartic actually as being forced to rhyme makes you think up creative metaphorology (if that is even a word LOL) that introduces creativity. You seem to know what you’re talking about. I haven’t learned to write ‘properly’. I just do *my thing* I really appreciate your comment and thanks for the follow too. You’ve got me up to 300 followers, yay! πŸ™‚

      Like

      1. Aww, definitely my pleasure! And I totally get what you mean. Sometimes I try to rhyme just because a couple of lines give a certain vibe when they match, but the rest of the time I’m lazy, haha. And I share the blessing of poetry writing being cathartic especially in tough times. Stay inspired. May our expression always redeem us when the outside world won’t. I look forward to reading more!

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Or, like in toy story where the toys are in the furnace. I could just chuck the body down there. So many options πŸ˜†πŸ˜€ I like the idea of you being involved though Alexis in some way πŸ˜‚πŸ˜

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.