SUNLIGHT

Who represents the sunlight in your life? Who radiates quality pure energy? Who do you feel cleansed and revitalised after talking to? Who in your circle turns a grey cloud day into a clear air fresh horizon day? People DO have these super powers. It’s not cheesy-I haven’t read too many philosophy/spirituality books. It’s true. I learned this in my lessons of lifeology (see recent post with same title if you missed it).

Today I have spoken with sunshiney people. People who open me up- spiritually, holistically, energetically. I have also been scrolling down the Facebook list of people who are also doing the RED January [Run Every Day in January] mission to raise money for Mind. (See my RED January post on this subject). I see the selfies posted there of the smiling faces. People who are proud because they managed to run or at least walk or swim today despite illness or life setbacks or the bloody BLACK DOG that collectively have claimed many of us and dragged us into the shadows. We DON’T wanna live in the shadows-who fucking DOES? No fucking one of us.

One lady ran 7 miles then unfortunately suffered a spontaneous panic attack and had to ring someone to take her home. That was NOT a failure. That was a triumph that she beat her panic disorder to do the 7 miles to begin with! On a shitty rainy day in January no less.

That lady had sunshine in her because she struggled but SHE DID IT ANYWAY.

Shadow people often don’t have particular handicaps. Some people are just miserable fuckers no matter what happens in their life. Harsh but fair. They are indifferent when good things happen and moaners and catastrophisers when the bad stuff hits the fan.

GET OVER YOURSELVES people!

I admire the ones of us who fucking shine even when the world and life circumstances and brain chemistry are awry. They choose to adopt an attitude of ‘unfuckwithable babassery’. That is genuinely ‘a thing’. Sunshine is not given to us at birth by a fairy godmother. Sunshine is CREATED by the adult decisions we make, by the people we choose to associate with, by the attitudes we adopt and by the behaviours we carry out.

tumblr_obvlv5vanq1qe25dno1_500

Sunshine is not a gift only given to ‘the lucky ones’ among us. My belief is there are no lucky ones. There are just people who smash the shit out of life with their fucking personalities! We need to take some credit for those strengths I reckon.

What is a personality anyway, you may ask? A personality is a collection of characteristic behavioural response patterns, attitudes, philosophies, mind sets and preferences that make us uniquely US. People will say “oh that is so typically you! or in the case of Britney “just so typically ME, oh baby baby…….etc”

Some people have hardy personalities. They are orchids. They grow anywhere and thrive in any conditions. Others are dandelions. Dandelions require special nurturance because they are delicately structured and prone to collapse under stress, BUT they can still shine. It is just harder for dandelions.

What I want to achieve on this blog is to help dandelions (the thoughtful sensitive types, prone to emotional difficulties), to thrive and to find their sunshiney spot in life-a place where they can put down roots and grow and learn to adapt to the differing weather conditions.

I know I write my summerSHINES blog in quite an INTENSE forceful style with a lot of swearing and flippant sweeping statements-but that is because I’m confident in what I’m saying, so see no reasons to water it down. I may SEEM strong. I may seem formidable. I may SEEM too much sometimes. Maybe you even think I try too hard on here? I personally don’t ever think you can try too hard. I am NOT a hardy type. Mood sunshine is very difficult for me to find, and even more difficult to keep hold of- but you know what? NEVER EVER WILL I GIVE UP….NEVER. And also I will NOT tolerate negativity from others. No bullshit welcome here is my philosophy.

And as for the shadow dwellers [the miserable desponds that is, not the people who are genuinely trying to create sunshine in a challenging climate] …those wh0 try and drag me down in the shadows so they have company…nope! That ain’t gonna happen. I’m just not going to allow that. To be fair it very rarely happens these days, which is awesome :) but nothing at all will extinguish my sun, even if I’m just running on my last dregs of hope some days. The sunshine will always remain in me. I’m confident of that.

This is a poem one of my closest friends send me by email tonight which is so sweet and thoughtful. He gave his permission for me to share it on my blog so here it is. This bought sunshine into my evening and lifted my heart, making me feel cared for and appreciated…it does also have a funny line in it which I highlighted in bold ;)…That is one of my favourite phrases, passed onto to me by another friend!

=====================================

The sunlight is in her hair. 

It’s also in her soul. 

She said to me, sweetly:

“Sometimes we need to have a fucking word with ourselves.” 

She is blessed, I think, many times over 

Though adversity knocks at her door a bit too often. 

And I am blessed, too 

For she is my friend.  

:)

=======================================

And this little excerpt of a Beatles song is for another friend I have who brings a lot of sunshine to a whole LOT of people including moi. The lyrics here are beautiful. Allow them to sink in and ponder how you can bring sunshine into your life more. It IS possible… :)

With love and good vibes

Summer X

13 thoughts on “SUNLIGHT

  1. At a guess I would say ALL bloggers gain confidence from bold sweeping statements, that’s called being honest and it’s fun, :D I’m a shy quiet type but I know on WP I have shocked with language and admission ;) but in a cheery way (and some ladies have disagreed which is fine), but that’s half the fun!! So Summer keep being bold, and swearing is so liberating. :)

  2. You my ikkle cherub have helped keep me here. So I thank you, the mister & the children. Not once have you diminished my woes as unworthy, although nothing in comparison to others. In fact you’ve made me front them even more so. For that I thank you. This year, you’ve made a huge impact on my life, yet we’ve never met. The power of genuine friendship is unbelievable. you know more about me than people I’ve know in all my 37 years. And not once have you judged or told me to not be real or feel what I feel. You my love are a legend! & I hope that all your blog followers understand and know how lucky they are to of discovered you. So my ikkle sunbeam, once more, thankyou. There aren’t enough thankyous. But also to the mister & the children for sharing your worth with us all. I’m pretty sure, I’m not the only one out there who’s life has become a little sunnier with thanks to you. Xxxx ☀️☀️☀️🌈🌈🌈🌈

  3. Wow!! Happy tears ❤❤❤❤❤ What a thoughtful message 😘Everything I’ve given you, all my time has been worth every minute hun, and I thought that anyway even before you just bigged me up like that 😂 If I genuinely have made that much of a helpful difference to you this year then I am absolutely chuffed to bits 😊🙆😇 I’ll email you tomorrow beautiful one and thank you again. You’re a diamond ❤😘 Xxxx

  4. Ok so I’ll be ever so twinkle toes honest… I’ve not read all of your recent last 24hours blogs. But I will. & you know I will. I spent today with some of the most loveliest & genuinest (totes not a word!) people I know. These other than my ikkle summer here are the people that have got me through the last year. My problems, mental health issues are nothing in comparison to others (summer will now shake head in annoyance with twinkle toes 😂!) But to me & my world are very real & sometimes all too life consuming. Today is a new year & I hope a new beginning for many, together we can come together (not like that 😂😂) & support each other! Ikkle miss summer has been a huge part of my strength in the last year, & at times I would of likely ran away from life. But aside from her own demons, she held my hand and put me before herself, like she has with may others. So today I want the blogging world to know just how much I love & cherish her! And to say a huge thanks to her, her husband and children for allowing her to put others before herself & them. It really has made a difference in my life! And this year I can’t wait to meet you all! Big loves to my ikkkle sunbeams, you really are the most amzing, scrumptious family! Here’s to 2017! A year of happiness & great memories for us all xx

  5. Hey Barney 🙋 I can’t wait to see what you write. Don’t be ashamed of having retreated into your shell for a while. You’ll find sunshine again 😊😊😊

  6. summer this is so good, I really needed it today. I’m slowly getting back on my feet and about to write my first post in 33 days, I don’t want the first dau of teh New Year to pass without putting something into words. Even before you described the Dandelion I knew that was me. I always get something out of your writings, Thanks! Barney 💗

CHAT TO ME (I am actually human)

