THE BRIGHT SIDE

This is a very brief update blog. I’ve been off wordpress today because I’m focusing on something called “everyday life”. It’s an unusual concept but it just might work πŸ˜‰

That said, life isn’t that particularly everyday or ordinary at the moment. It’s actually extraordinary. I’ve been planning my radio interview and writing the first draft of my proper journo article. Today has been INTENSE in capital letters, and not all that ordinary at all.

I’ve been reliving my mental health recovery journey as I’ve been writing, and concluding how blimin emotionally intense it’s all been!

I.n.t.e.n.s.e  is the word of the day.
I’ve had some tears today which is unusual for me…They were happy tears though of elation, exhilaration and relief…also sadness at moments when I’ve spontaneously time travelled back to the relative unshininess of the past.

It is so difficult to speak or write in summary form for journalists when I have so much I want to say. I’m trying to cram a lot of content into a few choice words.But it’s all great experience which I’m learning from and so grateful for πŸ™‚

Succinctness is not something I’ve had to do so far in my blogging career. I do any of my vlogs stream of consciousness, without editing or awareness of time, and my blog posts are as short or as long as I want them to be.
I’m used to being in full control of everything…but now I am putting myself in situations where I will have to write and speak in a more considered way, and also have to interact with people who are new to me. Eek! 

I’m getting media advice from friendly people who know about the media which makes me feel more secure. 

My diary for the next two to three weeks is filling up. I’m not used to this!…but what this all is folks, is LIVING-SUMMER STYLE!!!
I feel officially alive at the moment. WOOP! 

I’m no longer encased in my dissociative PTSD bubble of grotty miserableness.
I’m a caterpillar breaking out of their cocoon…becoming a summery butterfly. I love that concept πŸ’›

It’s all a transition…an exciting one…but you know what- even though things are improving for me and my horizons are shifting and changing and the sky above me is brightening, I will never forget what it feels like to live in the darkness. And that is why I continue to do what I do, on wordpress and beyond. 

Summer is shiny now, but she’ll always remember the black, and honour the people who are still in the black now.

I’m doing this media mental health awareness/anti-stigma stuff for me, and for you Xx

I never thought I’d climb out of the dark. But I’ve now learned, THIS GIRL CAN 😊 

SummerSHINES πŸ’›πŸ’› 

8 thoughts on “THE BRIGHT SIDE

Comments are closed.