CLUTCHING AT SCRIBBLES

Today has been a whirlwind…far too whirly and windy to blog about. What I need right now is sleep, so this will be probably be the shortest post EVER.

Earlier I went through my blog scribbles and fanned them out and photographed them. Each paper clipped bundle of parchment/tree represents a moment in time…a spark…an idea…an emotionally charged scribbling emotional processing, or conversely escapist therapeutic experience. 

When I scribble my brain works differently to when I write. 

Both activities put me in a blissful state of flow, but in different ways.

Emotional processing is probably more satisfying and quicker when I doodle. That’s why I cannot stop, even though my writing is maybe preferred (or at least expected) by blog readers. 

What I loved when I reviewed my sharpie scribbles is that I could gather a bundle of inked card and paper in my hands and physically touch it. I could feel the weight of the sharpie bundles. I felt a sense of achievement from having created something from nothing. 

Just me, some paper and some pens for scrawling. 

My sharpie scribbles genuinely make me happy. I smile whenever I read through them. 

With my writing I simply cannot read them back after I’ve published it…I’m too self critical. I think my writing is good when I’m in the process of writing it, but then when I send it out there I see flaws. 

Good writers have to edit…and to be able to edit well you have to realise the flaws in your writing and amend them…so writing is inherently a critical flaw-centred process, as well as a freeing cathartic one. You have to let yourself go enough in order to be creative…yet rein yourself in to make it read well.

When I scribble I don’t care as much…I’m a flippant scribbler. So what if no one likes them but me- I absolutely know I can’t draw!!…the fun comes from trying to express feelings and thoughts with a pen, when you have absolutely zero drawing ability. It’s hilarious! ;)

 It is also ridiculously frustrating though to have great ideas which you can’t draw out like they are in your head…anyway, the point is, I try anyway, even though I know my limitations as an artist.

And I love both forms of creative blog expression. I cannot say one is my favourite.

They are just part of me. The writing is well practised. The doodling is novel.  

I love both.

But earlier today I felt happiest when I was clutching my scribbles.

I made these from nothing, and I enjoyed the process of making them…that’s what creativity is!

SummerSHINES 

12 thoughts on “CLUTCHING AT SCRIBBLES

  1. I love, love, love your doodles! I’m making my therapist a ‘scrapbook’ about our journey together. In March it will be a year since we first started working together. I always get great ideas from you, haha! xx

  2. Thank you Sonyo! I love how blogging is opening my mind to all sorts of possibilities creatively…writing can be frustrating during the editing part (which is why I usually write stream of consciousness with very minimal editing!) I think if a writer or wannabe artist enjoys what they’re doing, the enthusiasm comes through in the piece 😊

  3. It’s great that you have a creative outlet and that you tie it all back to your blog. Writing is definitely an endless cycle of personal critique, cutting, revising, adding. :)

  4. It is definitely true! My mood switches fast when I doodle…writing can intensity difficult feelings sometimes, but writing transforms them into something different…it’s a great emotional release 😊

  5. I like what you said about doodling is a faster way to get at the emotions, or to get them out! I’m like you in that writing takes me a long time, because I’m so critical about myself. Sometimes when I have too much to write, I will just quickly type out a free-flow of thought and then come back to it later to write a reasonable and readable post. Plus, doodling is fun :)

  6. Doodling is really good for mental health and very under-rated I reckon! It always calms me down and I go into my happy place where I block the world out. Thanks for liking my doodles 😊😘😜 I will keep doing them as they’re so therapeutic 😊 X

  7. I understand the feeling of release from doodling. I have a journal/doodle book that I write/doodle in several times a day. It helps me get out my thoughts so I can continue with my day. LOVE your doodles btw.

  8. Ah that is so lovely of you! I can’t draw, as in, I can’t make my things look like how they are in my head lol! But hopefully they work as a kind of adapted art form haha :) I hope because I have the courage to publish my very simple scribbles that people will think it’s ok to try drawing out their feelings themselves! Thanks for your support 😊 X

  9. Hey! I just wanted to say in response to your sentence “I absolutely know I can’t draw” – that I completely disagree! I love looking at your posts and your doodles and your drawings have made me want to have a go (I haven’t drawn since I was a child) and it IS fun – so thanks and keep on making yourself smile whether that is through writing or sribbles or both!! TT x

CHAT TO ME (I am actually human)

